GDC: 2D Boy’s Argument For Going Indie In A Bad Economy

World of Goo

A constantly shrinking economy means that going independent isn’t as easy as it used to be, admitted 2D Boy (they made World of Goo) co-founder Ron Carmel at the Game Developers Conference today.

“My thinking at the time was: what’s the worst that could happen?” he said. “I quit my job, I go through some of my savings for a year and if it doesn’t work out, I’ll just get another job. I realize today that maybe the same argument wouldn’t apply as much. [laughs]”

Still, Carmel doesn’t think that’s a reason to not pursue independent game development, even if the leap of faith is slightly scarier these days. If making games is your dream, Carmel’s advice was simple.

“You only live once,” he said.

Good point.

4 Comments

Filed under GDC 2009, Jobless

4 responses to “GDC: 2D Boy’s Argument For Going Indie In A Bad Economy

  1. Mat

    I know it’s a sin, but I still have yet to get World of Goo. If only they made a Mac version…or a port to the iPhone. I could still get it on the Wii, but I’m having a hard time parting with 15 bucks for a game a lot of people are getting for 5 over Steam…

  2. I bought the Mac version of World of Goo a few days before the Steam sale. ….which sucks, but I’m happy to support an indie developer.

  3. NotWednesday

    Mat: They do make a Mac version. I own it, and it’s absolutely wonderful.

  4. Mat

    NotWednesday: Ah, I was not sure about that. Thanks…

    …yeah. So, I just google searched “World of Goo Mac” and the second entry was the Piratebay download! How ridiculous can the internet get? I rather wait until I can afford the game and pay for it then download it illegally. Seriously? What. the. fuck.

    Well, either way, the game is $19.99 on Mac and I can’t really afford that right now. If either the Mac version or Wii version drops to $9.99 or below I will be sure to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

